'

Domestic Violence What You Need to Know As an Accused in California

Понравилась презентация – покажи это...





Слайд 0

Domestic Violence What You Need to Know As an Accused in California


Слайд 1

What Is Domestic Violence in California?


Слайд 2

Domestic violence can be charged under more than one statute depending on the severity and type of injuries


Слайд 3

Corporal Injury on a Spouse, Cohabitant, or Fellow Parent -- California Penal Code Section 273.5 – “Any person who willfully inflicts upon a person who is his or her spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of his or her child, corporal injury resulting in a traumatic condition is guilty of a felony”


Слайд 4

Domestic Battery -- California Penal Code Section 243(e)(1) – Battery, defined as “any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another”, committed against “a spouse, a person with whom the defendant is cohabiting, a person who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, fiance, or fiancee, or a person with whom the defendant currently has, or has previously had, a dating or engagement relationship”


Слайд 5

Sexual Battery -- California Penal Code Section 243.4 -- “Any person who touches an intimate part of another person while that person is unlawfully restrained by the accused or an accomplice, and if the touching is against the will of the person touched and is for the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse, is guilty of sexual battery”


Слайд 6

Penalties if Convicted of Domestic Battery


Слайд 7

273.5 -- imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for not more than one year, or a fine of up to $6,000, or both 243(e)(1) or 243.4 -- imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more than one year, a fine of up to $2,000, or both


Слайд 8

Consequences of a Domestic Battery Conviction


Слайд 9

Additional consequences of a domestic battery conviction may include:


Слайд 10

Restrictions on visitation/custody with minor children Issuance of restraining/protective order Loss of the right to possess a firearm


Слайд 11

Disqualification for employment Revocation or denial of professional licensing Loss of, or denial of, immigration status


Слайд 12

Victim Cannot “Drop Charges”


Слайд 13

There are a number of potential defenses to a domestic violence accusation;


Слайд 14

However, the alleged victim cannot simply decide to “drop the charges”


Слайд 15

Only the prosecuting attorney can make the decision to drop the charges against you


Слайд 16

LEARN MORE ABOUT DOMESTIC VIOLENECE IN CALIFORNIA


Слайд 17

www.attorneylombardo.com Content provided by Best Legal Practices


×

HTML:





Ссылка: